Nails

Alien Status!

Hi guys!

So I’m sure you have probably seen on Pinterest a little pin describing easy glitter removal through the use of acetone, cotton, and aluminum foil. Skeptic that I am, I never thought this could truly work. So I set myself up to try it out.

The pin describes the process as soaking pieces of cotton with pure acetone, applying one to each of your nails, and then wrapping your fingers in foil for a period of about five minutes.

I tried one nail after five minutes and it surely was not enough time. So I rewrapped the nail and left all of them on for a period of 15 minutes.

Guess what?! It really works! Albeit, it does not take off every smidge of nail polish or glitter but it really does take down the time that you need to remove the glitter, the work that goes into rubbing the glitter off, and the scratches that you get on your nails from removing it all. Here are photos of before and after without touch ups:

20130114-190213.jpg

20130114-190251.jpg

20130114-190325.jpg

Overall, I really loved the technique. It does dry out your nails, but that’s nothing some lotion and cuticle oil can’t cure. 😉

Leave a comment